Both ear-based vagus nerve stimulators. One uses current-controlled stimulation. The other doesn’t say.
Vagally Understood
Vagal Buddy vs Vagustim
Both target the ear. Both connect to an app. One tells you the current it delivers. The other doesn't.
Vagal Buddy
$349
Vagustim V2
~$349–579
Current control
Current-controlled (tVNS)
EverSteady measures impedance 50,000 times per second and adjusts output to maintain a constant current. The dose you set is the dose delivered.
Current control
Not specified
Vagustim does not state whether its output is current-controlled or voltage-controlled. Their published specifications describe "gentle pulses" without specifying the control method.
Stimulation target
Ear (tragus)
Targets the tragus — the part of the ear with the most direct vagal pathway to the brainstem. Supported by the widest body of published tVNS research.
Stimulation target
Ear (tragus + concha)
Targets both the tragus and concha regions. Bilateral stimulation (both ears simultaneously) or single-ear use.
Safety certification
IEC 60601-1, CE, FCC
Certified to the international medical device safety standard used in clinical settings. The same standard applied to hospital equipment.
Safety certification
CE, FCC
CE and FCC certified for general wellness use. Vagustim does not list IEC 60601-1 medical device safety certification.
Conductive gel
Not required
Clip on and go. Conductive paste is available for comfort but not needed for the device to work.
Conductive gel
Recommended
Vagustim recommends conductive gel or water for better contact and comfort. Vagustim-branded gel is sold separately.
App required
No
Buddy works standalone with a built-in screen and 5-way joystick. The Vagal Tones app is optional for custom protocols and firmware updates.
App required
Recommended
Vagustim can operate offline with built-in intensity buttons, but the app is recommended for AI-optimised programmes and full functionality.
Money-back guarantee
45 days
Use it daily for 45 days. If you don't feel better, return it for a full refund. No questions asked.
Money-back guarantee
30 days
30-day money-back guarantee from purchase.
Price
$349
Current-controlled tVNS with EverCharge wireless charging. No gel, no subscription. IEC 60601-1 certified. HSA/FSA eligible.
Price
~$349–579
Price varies frequently. Gel recommended as ongoing cost. Replacement earsets available from $50. HSA/FSA eligible via Truemed.
One tells you the current. The other doesn't.
Both devices target the vagus nerve through the ear. Vagal Buddy uses current-controlled stimulation with a published specification: 0.1–4.0 mA, measured 50,000 times per second. Vagustim does not state its control method. In clinical tVNS research, current-controlled output is the standard because it delivers a reproducible dose. If knowing what your nerve actually receives matters to you, one of these devices can tell you.
Based on publicly available specifications as of June 2026. Prices approximate and may vary. Vagustim is a trademark of Vagustim Health. Verify current details with each manufacturer.
Comparing Vagus Nerve Stimulators
What should I look for when buying a vagus nerve stimulator?
The most important technical specification in a vagus nerve stimulator is the current control method. Current-controlled devices (tVNS) deliver a consistent therapeutic dose regardless of changing skin conditions. Voltage-controlled devices (tENS) apply a fixed voltage, meaning the actual current reaching the nerve fluctuates. Other key factors include the stimulation target (ear-based auricular stimulation has the widest body of published clinical research), ongoing costs (gel, subscriptions, electrode replacements), frequency range, safety certifications (IEC 60601-1 is the medical device standard), and the availability of a money-back trial period. Of the consumer devices available in 2026, Vagal Buddy and Vagal Oh! are the only affordable current-controlled ear-based stimulators with IEC 60601-1 certification.
Is Vagustim current-controlled?
Vagustim is an ear-based vagus nerve stimulation device that targets both ears simultaneously. Their published specifications do not state whether the device uses current-controlled or voltage-controlled output. Vagustim describes its stimulation as "gentle electrical impulses" with an "intelligent algorithm" that adjusts based on comfort feedback, but does not specify whether the output is regulated by current or voltage. Current-controlled devices explicitly state this in their specifications because it is a significant clinical advantage. The Vagal Buddy ($349) and Oh! ($499) both use current-controlled stimulation via the EverSteady platform, with real-time impedance monitoring at 50,000 adjustments per second.
Is Sensate a vagus nerve stimulator?
Sensate is not a vagus nerve stimulator. It uses infrasound vibration on the chest, which is a fundamentally different technology from transcutaneous vagus nerve stimulation (tVNS). Sensate does not deliver electrical stimulation to the vagus nerve. It produces low-frequency vibrations intended to promote relaxation through a different mechanism. Vagal devices use electrical stimulation through ear electrodes to directly activate the auricular branch of the vagus nerve, which is the approach supported by over 200 published clinical tVNS studies.
Does Pulsetto need gel or a subscription?
Pulsetto requires conductive gel applied to the neck electrodes before every session. The gel tubes need regular replacement, adding an ongoing cost to the device. Pulsetto also offers a premium app subscription that unlocks additional programs beyond the free tier. By comparison, Vagal ear-based stimulators do not require gel (a small amount of conductive paste is optional for comfort but not required for operation), and there are no subscription fees for any Vagal device.
Is Nurosym current-controlled or voltage-controlled?
Nurosym (sold as Nuropod in the US) uses voltage-controlled stimulation (tENS), despite marketing itself as a tVNS device. The device applies a fixed voltage through ear electrodes, meaning the current delivered to the vagus nerve varies with skin conditions throughout each session. At approximately $699, it is the most expensive consumer ear-based stimulator available, yet uses the same voltage-controlled approach as the $59 Vagal Boost. Vagal Buddy ($349) and Vagal Oh! ($499) both use current-controlled stimulation via the EverSteady platform, delivering a consistent dose at less than half the price of Nurosym.
Is Pulsetto current-controlled or voltage-controlled?
Pulsetto uses voltage-controlled stimulation (tENS), not current-controlled stimulation (tVNS). This means Pulsetto applies a fixed voltage, and the actual current reaching the vagus nerve fluctuates as skin moisture, temperature, and contact pressure change during a session. Current-controlled devices like the Vagal Buddy ($349) and Vagal Oh! ($499) measure skin impedance in real time and adjust output to maintain a constant current. Current-controlled stimulation is the method used in the majority of published clinical tVNS research because it delivers a reproducible dose.