Skip to content
10,996 Devices Shipped.10,996 Shipped
Trusted by Scientists since 2019.Scientist Trusted
Recommended to their patients by doctors.Doctor Recommended

Vagal vs VeRelief Comparison

Current-controlled precision vs budget three-nerve stimulation. Two ear-based approaches at different price points.

Vagally Understood

Vagal Buddy vs VeRelief

Both ear-based. One delivers current-controlled precision. The other claims three-nerve stimulation at a budget price.

Vagal Buddy

$349

VeRelief Prime

~$199

Current control

Current-controlled (tVNS)
EverSteady measures impedance 50,000 times per second. The current stays constant regardless of skin conditions. Published specification: 0.1–4.0 mA.

Current control

Not specified
VeRelief does not state whether it uses current-controlled or voltage-controlled output. Specifications focus on the three-nerve targeting claim rather than stimulation control method.

Stimulation target

Vagus nerve (auricular)
Targets the tragus of the ear, which has the most direct vagal pathway to the brainstem. Single-nerve, focused approach backed by 200+ published studies.

Stimulation target

Three nerves claimed
VeRelief claims to target the vagus, trigeminal, and median nerves simultaneously via behind-the-ear placement. Multi-nerve targeting has less published research than focused auricular tVNS.

Safety certification

IEC 60601-1, CE, FCC
International medical device safety standard. The same certification applied to equipment used in hospitals and clinical research.

Safety certification

General wellness
VeRelief is marketed as a general wellness product. IEC 60601-1 medical device certification is not listed in their published specifications.

Protocols

50+ updatable via app
Research-based protocols loaded through the Vagal Tones app. New protocols added as clinical research advances. Device improves over time.

Protocols

Built-in programmes
Pre-set stimulation programmes. Programme selection via the device. No app-based protocol updates.

Price

$349
Current-controlled. IEC 60601-1 certified. Updatable protocols. EverCharge wireless charging. 45-day guarantee. HSA/FSA eligible.

Price

~$199
Lower price point with three-nerve targeting. 30-day guarantee. Control method and medical device certification not specified.

Budget price, or controlled dose?

VeRelief Prime costs less and claims to target three nerves simultaneously. Vagal Buddy costs more but delivers a known, current-controlled dose with IEC 60601-1 medical device certification and updatable protocols. Multi-nerve targeting is a newer concept with less published evidence than focused auricular tVNS. The question is whether you want the lowest price or the most precisely controlled stimulation.

View Buddy - $349 Compare all devices

Based on publicly available specifications as of June 2026. Prices approximate and may vary. VeRelief is a trademark of Hoolest, Inc. Verify current details with each manufacturer.

Comparing Vagus Nerve Stimulators

What should I look for when buying a vagus nerve stimulator?

The most important technical specification in a vagus nerve stimulator is the current control method. Current-controlled devices (tVNS) deliver a consistent therapeutic dose regardless of changing skin conditions. Voltage-controlled devices (tENS) apply a fixed voltage, meaning the actual current reaching the nerve fluctuates. Other key factors include the stimulation target (ear-based auricular stimulation has the widest body of published clinical research), ongoing costs (gel, subscriptions, electrode replacements), frequency range, safety certifications (IEC 60601-1 is the medical device standard), and the availability of a money-back trial period. Of the consumer devices available in 2026, Vagal Buddy and Vagal Oh! are the only affordable current-controlled ear-based stimulators with IEC 60601-1 certification.